September 30th, 2020


Good morning welcome to Wednesday! Halfway through the third week of school...It is Wednesday and that means live core classes for both the Middle School and High School!


Attention parents and students, as I mentioned yesterday, Skyward will be calling home for all students who were marked absent from school for the day before. So, if a student did not engage in school in any way yesterday, their parent will receive a

call at 10:30 today. If you feel that the absence was marked incorrectly, and you did

engage in school, we will need you to call the school office right after the call so we

can correct the absence. To report an absence, please notify your teachers AND call

Mrs. Ford.


Remember students all live class attendance is required. Your teachers are taking

attendance every live class day. So please, attend your classes.


High School Students, are you taking Art with Ms. Bigelow this year? Did you sign up

to pick up your Art Kit today? Yes today! I may have said today yesterday, but what

I really meant was today! Yesterday I should have said tomorrow. Is that clear?

Probably not, so...let me clear it up. Art supply pickup is today, at CHS from 7:30AM -

3:30PM. Don't forget to pick them up, you will need these materials for class

assignments, and who doesn't love a bag full of art supplies?


Coaching sessions have started...If you want to take part, I have included the

coaches’ emails with these announcements.


CMHS Dad Joke of the Day:

Why won't the shrimp share its treasure?

Because it's shellfish.


Words of Wisdom...

There's a movie titled Stand and Deliver. It is based on the life of a man by the name of Jaime Escalante. He taught mathematics at a very rough high school in East Los Angeles.

Gangs, violence, and drugs were common at his school, but when he looked at his students, he didn't see bad young people, he saw students full of potential and possibility. Here's what he told his students: You are the best . .. our hope for the future; remember that!

Mr. Escalante believed in his students, and he taught them to believe in themselves. The results? Some of his students became math champions, and he was recognized as a modern-day hero by former President Ronald Reagan.

Today, remember this: We can do many things if we just believe in ourselves.

With something to think about, this Mrs. Berg . Make it a great day ... or not. The choice is yours.


ATHLETICS INFORMATION AND COACH EMAILS

● Marcus Carr, Football: mcarr@coupeville.k12.wa.us

● Cory Whitmore, HS Volleyball: cwhitmore@coupeville.k12.wa.us

● Sarah Lyngra, MS Volleyball: sarah.lyngra@gmail.com

● Kyle Nelson, HS Girls Soccer: knelson@coupeville.k12.wa.us

● Elizabeth Bitting, Cross Country/MS Track: ebitting@coupeville.k12.wa.us

● Robert Woods (acting coach) Boys Soccer: rwoods@coupeville.k12.wa.us

● Reese Cernick, MS Boys Soccer: rcernick@coupeville.k12.wa.us

● Ken Stange, Tennis: kstange@coupeville.k12.wa.us

● Brad Sherman, HS Boys Basketball: bsherman@coupeville.k12.wa.us

● Scott Fox, HS Girls Basketball: sfox@coupeville.k12.wa.us

● Fred Farris, MS Girls Basketball: ffarris@coupeville.k12.wa.us

● Jon Roberts, MS Boys Basketball: jroberts@coupeville.k12.wa.us

● Kevin McGranahan, Softball: kmcgranahan@coupeville.k12.wa.us

● Randy King, HS Track: rking@coupeville.k12.wa.us

Beginning on September 28th and running through November 30th, the Washington

Interscholastic Athletic Association (WIAA) has granted all schools the opportunity to have a second "summer" coaching session. In essence, our coaching staffs are allowed to run practices just as they did during the summer months. Since last June, our District, following approval from the Island County Health Department, has been holding practices and conditioning practices following Phase 3 guidelines put out by the WIAA, state of Washington and our county during the COVID-19 pandemic. As those guidelines have changed, our coaching staff and District continues to follow the updated guidelines. Below are some of the guidelines that are in place to keep our student-athletes and coaches as safe as possible during this time:

● Students must present a signed parent/guardian note each and every day they

attend practices which states that they are within the guidelines for temperature

and are not exhibiting any symptoms of COVID. We use the note in lieu of

temperature checks based on the advice of our Health Department. The notes are

recorded on a sheet and kept by the coaching staff for the entirety of the coaching

period. If a student does not have a signed note, or cannot get verbal confirmation

from their parent/guardian prior to practice, they are not allowed to practice.

● When within 6' of each other during practice, all participants are required to wear

masks.

● While indoors and out, a maximum of 10 participants (including coach/supervisor)

are allowed in any one space.

○ At the end of a student(s) using a workout station, the weights/benches are

wiped down and at the conclusion of each lifting session, students and

coaches wipe down the weight room area with a cleaning solution provided

by the school.


We are constantly monitoring the state and county guidelines and if they change or are

amended we follow suit. While it's true that we are currently fully remote for school, we also believe that it's important for our kids to have some sense of normalcy and get an

opportunity to be physically active as long as we are doing all that we can to keep them

and their families safe. Our coaching staff fully understands that any breach in safety

protocols or variation of the set guidelines will not only end their ability to continue

practicing but would also end the entire athletic departments practice time so they are, and have been, very diligent in following the procedures as presented to them.

As I said earlier, our coaches and athletes have been working within these guidelines and have been meeting since last June with no violations and with a great deal of participation from our student athletes across the board. We are very hopeful that school and athletics will get back and running fully sooner, rather than later, but until that time we are going to continue to offer, what we feel, is the safest and best alternative for our kids and community using this plan.



0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

© 2023 by Coupeville School District. Proudly created with Wix.com

Tel: (360) 678-2400