September 29th, 2020


Good morning its Tuesday! That means online engagement at the Middle School

and electives for the High School!


Attention parents and students, starting today, Skyward will be calling home for all students who were marked absent from school for the day before. So, if a student did not engage in school in any way yesterday, their parent will receive a call at 10:30 today. If you feel that the absence was marked incorrectly, and you did

engage in school, we will need you to call the school office right after the call so we

can correct the absence. To report an absence, please notify your teachers, or call

Mrs. Ford.


Remember students all live class attendance is required. Your teachers are taking

attendance every live class day. So please, attend your classes.


High School Students, are you taking Art with Ms. Bigelow this year? Did you sign up

to pick up your Art Kit today? If so, this is your reminder. Art Kits are ready and

available for pick up at CHS from 7:30AM - 3:30PM. Don't forget to pick them up, you

will need these materials for class assignments, and who doesn't love a bag full of

art supplies?


CMHS Dad Joke of the Day:

The police showed up when my son refused to take a nap.

They charged him with resisting a rest.



Words of Wisdom...

William Blake, English poet, painter, and master engraver, has engraved these words into the character of many:

As a man is, so he sees.

He's talking about perception - how a person views the world. The word perception comes from the Latin percipere, which means to grab hold of So the question of the day is: How do you grab hold of life? Do you hold the negative or the positive? Do you see the glass as half full or half empty? Today, watch those negative thoughts. Grab hold of the positive in each situation and see how your perception can empower you. With something to think about, this is Mrs. Ask . Make it a great day ... or not. The choice is yours.





ATHLETICS INFORMATION AND COACH EMAILS

● Marcus Carr, Football: mcarr@coupeville.k12.wa.us

● Cory Whitmore, HS Volleyball: cwhitmore@coupeville.k12.wa.us

● Sarah Lyngra, MS Volleyball: sarah.lyngra@gmail.com

● Kyle Nelson, HS Girls Soccer: knelson@coupeville.k12.wa.us

● Elizabeth Bitting, Cross Country/MS Track: ebitting@coupeville.k12.wa.us

● Robert Woods (acting coach) Boys Soccer: rwoods@coupeville.k12.wa.us

● Reese Cernick, MS Boys Soccer: rcernick@coupeville.k12.wa.us

● Ken Stange, Tennis: kstange@coupeville.k12.wa.us

● Brad Sherman, HS Boys Basketball: bsherman@coupeville.k12.wa.us

● Scott Fox, HS Girls Basketball: sfox@coupeville.k12.wa.us

● Fred Farris, MS Girls Basketball: ffarris@coupeville.k12.wa.us

● Jon Roberts, MS Boys Basketball: jroberts@coupeville.k12.wa.us

● Kevin McGranahan, Softball: kmcgranahan@coupeville.k12.wa.us

● Randy King, HS Track: rking@coupeville.k12.wa.us

Beginning on September 28th and running through November 30th, the Washington

Interscholastic Athletic Association (WIAA) has granted all schools the opportunity to have a second "summer" coaching session. In essence, our coaching staffs are allowed to run practices just as they did during the summer months. Since last June, our District, following approval from the Island County Health Department, has been holding practices and conditioning practices following Phase 3 guidelines put out by the WIAA, state of Washington and our county during the COVID-19 pandemic. As those guidelines have changed, our coaching staff and District continues to follow the updated guidelines. Below are some of the guidelines that are in place to keep our student-athletes and coaches as safe as possible during this time:


● Students must present a signed parent/guardian note each and every day they

attend practices which states that they are within the guidelines for temperature

and are not exhibiting any symptoms of COVID. We use the note in lieu of

temperature checks based on the advice of our Health Department. The notes are

recorded on a sheet and kept by the coaching staff for the entirety of the coaching

period. If a student does not have a signed note, or cannot get verbal confirmation

from their parent/guardian prior to practice, they are not allowed to practice.

● When within 6' of each other during practice, all participants are required to wear

masks.

● While indoors and out, a maximum of 10 participants (including coach/supervisor)

are allowed in any one space.

○ At the end of a student(s) using a workout station, the weights/benches are

wiped down and at the conclusion of each lifting session, students and

coaches wipe down the weight room area with a cleaning solution provided

by the school.

We are constantly monitoring the state and county guidelines and if they change or are

amended we follow suit. While it's true that we are currently fully remote for school, we also believe that it's important for our kids to have some sense of normalcy and get an

opportunity to be physically active as long as we are doing all that we can to keep them

and their families safe. Our coaching staff fully understands that any breach in safety

protocols or variation of the set guidelines will not only end their ability to continue

practicing but would also end the entire athletic departments practice time so they are, and have been, very diligent in following the procedures as presented to them.

As I said earlier, our coaches and athletes have been working within these guidelines and have been meeting since last June with no violations and with a great deal of participation from our student athletes across the board. We are very hopeful that school and athletics will get back and running fully sooner, rather than later, but until that time we are going to continue to offer, what we feel, is the safest and best alternative for our kids and community using this plan.




2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Tuesday, June 1st, 2021

Please stand for the Pledge of Allegiance. Good morning! Welcome back from Memorial Day weekend. I hope all of you were able to rest, relax, and take a moment in remembrance over the past 4 days. We a