September 28th, 2020


Good morning and welcome to week 3. Hopefully you are establishing some routines

to try to make our new normal a little easier.


Today MS and HS you have your live core classes!


Please remember to check Coupevillewolves.org for our weekly work checklist! It is up and ready! It's a great tool to stay up on all of your classes.


We are also going to be adding a yearbook page to the website, look for more

information on that shortly!


Students and parents, even though we are online and being “present” at school

means something totally different now...we are asking that if you are going to be

absent from school have a parent call Mrs. Ford at 360-678-2416. There will be

phone calls starting this week if a student misses a day of school.


Coaching sessions start today! If you haven’t contacted a coach for info...check the

pdf of these announcements for coaches' emails.


CMHS Dad Joke of the Day:

My friend and his girlfriend have been together for 5 years, and I’ve never heard

either of them ever tell a joke.

You could say they are in a very serious relationship.



Words of Wisdom...

In her famous diary, a very young Anne Frank wrote these words:

Parents can only give good advice or put [their children] on the right path, but the final forming of a person's character lies in their own hands.

Anne Frank is talking about self-responsibility which, in a nutshell, means taking responsibility for your thoughts, words, and deeds. Our parents, teachers, counselors, and faith leaders can offer us valuable advice. They can recommend which path to take. They can share the wisdom they have gained through experience. But in the end, it is up to us to make the right choices. Today, practice taking responsibility for your actions. If you make a mistake, admit it. If you hurt someone's feelings or say something you shouldn't, apologize. Learning to be self-responsible is learning to be a person of character, and being a person with character is a goal we should all set for ourselves. With something to think about, this is Mr. Kappes . Make it a great day ... or not. The choice is yours.




ATHLETICS INFORMATION AND COACH EMAILS

● Marcus Carr, Football: mcarr@coupeville.k12.wa.us

● Cory Whitmore, HS Volleyball: cwhitmore@coupeville.k12.wa.us

● Sarah Lyngra, MS Volleyball: sarah.lyngra@gmail.com

● Kyle Nelson, HS Girls Soccer: knelson@coupeville.k12.wa.us

● Elizabeth Bitting, Cross Country/MS Track: ebitting@coupeville.k12.wa.us

● Robert Woods (acting coach) Boys Soccer: rwoods@coupeville.k12.wa.us

● Reese Cernick, MS Boys Soccer: rcernick@coupeville.k12.wa.us

● Ken Stange, Tennis: kstange@coupeville.k12.wa.us

● Brad Sherman, HS Boys Basketball: bsherman@coupeville.k12.wa.us

● Scott Fox, HS Girls Basketball: sfox@coupeville.k12.wa.us

● Fred Farris, MS Girls Basketball: ffarris@coupeville.k12.wa.us

● Jon Roberts, MS Boys Basketball: jroberts@coupeville.k12.wa.us

● Kevin McGranahan, Softball: kmcgranahan@coupeville.k12.wa.us

● Randy King, HS Track: rking@coupeville.k12.wa.us

Beginning on September 28th and running through November 30th, the Washington

Interscholastic Athletic Association (WIAA) has granted all schools the opportunity to have a second "summer" coaching session. In essence, our coaching staffs are allowed to run practices just as they did during the summer months. Since last June, our District, following approval from the Island County Health Department, has been holding practices and conditioning practices following Phase 3 guidelines put out by the WIAA, state of Washington and our county during the COVID-19 pandemic. As those guidelines have changed, our coaching staff and District continues to follow the updated guidelines. Below are some of the guidelines that are in place to keep our student-athletes and coaches as safe as possible during this time:


● Students must present a signed parent/guardian note each and every day they

attend practices which states that they are within the guidelines for temperature

and are not exhibiting any symptoms of COVID. We use the note in lieu of

temperature checks based on the advice of our Health Department. The notes are

recorded on a sheet and kept by the coaching staff for the entirety of the coaching

period. If a student does not have a signed note, or cannot get verbal confirmation

from their parent/guardian prior to practice, they are not allowed to practice.

● When within 6' of each other during practice, all participants are required to wear

masks.

● While indoors and out, a maximum of 10 participants (including coach/supervisor)

are allowed in any one space.

○ At the end of a student(s) using a workout station, the weights/benches are

wiped down and at the conclusion of each lifting session, students and

coaches wipe down the weight room area with a cleaning solution provided

by the school.

We are constantly monitoring the state and county guidelines and if they change or are

amended we follow suit. While it's true that we are currently fully remote for school, we also believe that it's important for our kids to have some sense of normalcy and get an

opportunity to be physically active as long as we are doing all that we can to keep them

and their families safe. Our coaching staff fully understands that any breach in safety

protocols or variation of the set guidelines will not only end their ability to continue

practicing but would also end the entire athletic departments practice time so they are, and have been, very diligent in following the procedures as presented to them.

As I said earlier, our coaches and athletes have been working within these guidelines and have been meeting since last June with no violations and with a great deal of participation from our student athletes across the board. We are very hopeful that school and athletics will get back and running fully sooner, rather than later, but until that time we are going to continue to offer, what we feel, is the safest and best alternative for our kids and community using this plan.

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

© 2023 by Coupeville School District. Proudly created with Wix.com

Tel: (360) 678-2400