October 2nd, 2020

Updated: Oct 5, 2020


Good morning thank goodness it is Friday! I hope all of you had a great week, that you learned some things, the workload was appropriate, and that you also have plans for a nice weekend.


MS and HS students you have your live core classes today.


You see us all running today? Well we are getting in last minute shape to run Race

the Reserve! If you don’t know, this is a great yearly fundraiser for our Senior class!

It was in danger of not happening due to Covid...but guess what! They have

arranged it to be virtual! Thats right, the Race the Reserve Virtual event is still open!

You can run anywhere, anytime. Run 5k, 10k, a half marathon, a marathon, or as far

as you want! Thats right, I guess you could even run to the store and still be

supporting our Senior class. The cost is only $45 and you’ll receive a bib, medal,

T-shirt and swag bag.


But more importantly, proceeds go to support the Coupeville HS 2021 Seniors and

their graduation week activities and scholarships. This is a unique year to be a

Senior, so lets support them as best we can! Without this event and the proceeds it

provides to these students, many would be unable to participate. Students, parents,

staff members, family pets, everyone come support our Seniors this year! Lets show

them some love as they move to graduation!


To register, go to racethereserve.com


As you all know, the end of last year was not normal. Some of you left some

personal belongings behind. 6thgraders, some of you left stuff at the elementary

school! So, we are going to go through what we have, if it has a name on it, we will

call you. If you left something behind and you know your name is not associated,

call oremailus at the school with a description.We will see if we have it. Items that are

not retrieved will be donated to charity next week.


We are rapidly moving through our first quarter, and it seems like a good time to

remind everyone to do your absolute best to keep on top of all of your school work.

It is difficult in school when you fall behind...at it will be even more difficult if you fall

behind in virtual school! We have support systems out there. Reach out to me or

your counselor if you are having a tough time keeping up. We can help you...don’t

wait until the task is huge...let us help you keep up!


Ms. Bigelow's Art students, have you picked up your Art Kits yet. If not, they are

available for pickup today at CHS from 7:30AM - 3:30PM. Don't forget to pick them

up, you will need these materials for class assignments. If you can not pick up your

materials and have not made other arrangements for distribution, please contact

Ms. Bigelow today.


Coaching sessions have started...If you want to take part, one last time, I have

included the coaches’ emails with these announcements.


CMHS Dad Joke of the Day:

Today, I changed a light bulb, crossed a street, and walked into a bar.

My life is a joke.



Words of Wisdom...


There is a Hebrew proverb that says:

Where there is no vision, the people will perish.

That's an interesting thing to think about. What's your vision for tomorrow? What dreams are you dreaming? Now listen to this advice: -

Whatever you can do or dream you can, begin it. Boldness has genius, power, and magic in it. * Anybody out there without a vision? Start dreaming today! With something to think about, this is Ms McLean . Make it a great day ... or not. The choice is yours.




ATHLETICS INFORMATION AND COACH EMAILS

● Marcus Carr, Football: mcarr@coupeville.k12.wa.us

● Cory Whitmore, HS Volleyball: cwhitmore@coupeville.k12.wa.us

● Sarah Lyngra, MS Volleyball: sarah.lyngra@gmail.com

● Kyle Nelson, HS Girls Soccer: knelson@coupeville.k12.wa.us

● Elizabeth Bitting, Cross Country/MS Track: ebitting@coupeville.k12.wa.us

● Robert Woods (acting coach) Boys Soccer: rwoods@coupeville.k12.wa.us

● Reese Cernick, MS Boys Soccer: rcernick@coupeville.k12.wa.us

● Ken Stange, Tennis: kstange@coupeville.k12.wa.us

● Brad Sherman, HS Boys Basketball: bsherman@coupeville.k12.wa.us

● Scott Fox, HS Girls Basketball: sfox@coupeville.k12.wa.us

● Fred Farris, MS Girls Basketball: ffarris@coupeville.k12.wa.us

● Jon Roberts, MS Boys Basketball: jroberts@coupeville.k12.wa.us

● Kevin McGranahan, Softball: kmcgranahan@coupeville.k12.wa.us

● Randy King, HS Track: rking@coupeville.k12.wa.us

Beginning on September 28th and running through November 30th, the Washington

Interscholastic Athletic Association (WIAA) has granted all schools the opportunity to have a second "summer" coaching session. In essence, our coaching staffs are allowed to run practices just as they did during the summer months. Since last June, our District, following approval from the Island County Health Department, has been holding practices and conditioning practices following Phase 3 guidelines put out by the WIAA, state of Washington and our county during the COVID-19 pandemic. As those guidelines have changed, our coaching staff and District continues to follow the updated guidelines. Below are some of the guidelines that are in place to keep our student-athletes and coaches as safe as possible during this time:

● Students must present a signed parent/guardian note each and every day they

attend practices which states that they are within the guidelines for temperature

and are not exhibiting any symptoms of COVID. We use the note in lieu of

temperature checks based on the advice of our Health Department. The notes are

recorded on a sheet and kept by the coaching staff for the entirety of the coaching

period. If a student does not have a signed note, or cannot get verbal confirmation

from their parent/guardian prior to practice, they are not allowed to practice.

● When within 6' of each other during practice, all participants are required to wear

masks.

● While indoors and out, a maximum of 10 participants (including coach/supervisor)

are allowed in any one space.

○ At the end of a student(s) using a workout station, the weights/benches are

wiped down and at the conclusion of each lifting session, students and

coaches wipe down the weight room area with a cleaning solution provided

by the school.


We are constantly monitoring the state and county guidelines and if they change or are

amended we follow suit. While it's true that we are currently fully remote for school, we also believe that it's important for our kids to have some sense of normalcy and get an

opportunity to be physically active as long as we are doing all that we can to keep them

and their families safe. Our coaching staff fully understands that any breach in safety

protocols or variation of the set guidelines will not only end their ability to continue

practicing but would also end the entire athletic departments practice time so they are, and have been, very diligent in following the procedures as presented to them.

As I said earlier, our coaches and athletes have been working within these guidelines and have been meeting since last June with no violations and with a great deal of participation from our student athletes across the board. We are very hopeful that school and athletics will get back and running fully sooner, rather than later, but until that time we are going to continue to offer, what we feel, is the safest and best alternative for our kids and community using this plan.

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Tuesday, June 1st, 2021

Please stand for the Pledge of Allegiance. Good morning! Welcome back from Memorial Day weekend. I hope all of you were able to rest, relax, and take a moment in remembrance over the past 4 days. We a